St Mary's C of E Primary School

Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Protected Characteristics

At St Mary's , we teach children  that we all have characteristics and that 9 are protected.



The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation because of the protected characteristics that we all have.

Under the Equality Act, these are nine protected characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race - including colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

We do not teach about all the protected characteristics in every year group. The curriculum is planned and delivered so that our pupils develop age appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at St Mary's CofE Primary School. 

The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted in school through:
•Our school vision  and our school improvement work
•Our school core values
•Our school behaviour policy
•Conscious role modelling by all adults in the school community
•Active engagement and communication with parents and carers

•Within our curriculum subjects ensuring we are inclusive and diverse
•Modelling and teaching appropriate vocabulary
•Personal, Social, Health and Economic education (PSHE) sessions
•Religious Education (RE) lessons, RSE lessons,
•Pupil Voice opportunities
•Educational visits
•School council
•Extra-curricular activities, after-school clubs, charity work and work within the local community


This year we are applying for The Rights Respecting Schools Award from UNICEF.